Psychotherapy 2.0 – new book – by Philippa Weitz

We are very happy to place this guest post by Philippa Weitz who edited this new book about psychotherapy and technology.

List of articles in the book by Tamara Alferoff, Kate Anthony, Aaron Balick, Michèle Bartlett, Chris Blackmore, Tim Bond, Alexandra Chalfont, Divine Charura, Kate Dunn, Ian Gilmore, Stephen Goss, Jen Hyatt, Susan Iacovou,  Steve Johnson, Gordon Law, Aqualma Murray, DeeAnna Nagel, Eduardo Pitchon, Martin Pollecoff, Anne Stokes,  Digby Tantam, Kate Thompson, Biljana van Rijn, Diane Waller, Tom Warnecke, Janet Weisz, Philippa Weitz, Heward Wilkinson

34505

The subject of psychotherapy inline has been brewing in my head for a long time. In fact I’m not sure why it took me so long to get there as I think I was the first woman in Kingston upon Thames to buy an Amstrad 8256 (judging by the expression on the face of the sale’s assistant) back in around 1984. I finished my masters in psychological counselling in 1987, and have been passionate about both ever since. But totally failed to make the connection between the two until about 2 years ago.

 

At this time (and still am) I was Commissioning Editor for the UKCP Book Series ……and so I discussed the idea of a book on the subject of psychotherapy online with the Editorial Board. I wrote a marvellous and entirely naive proposal which was binned a long time ago. The Editorial Board accepted my proposal enthusiastically. I thought I was simply going to write a book about how to set up an online practice. Easy. I’d already written the book on Setting up a Private Practice, so I thought these were transferable skills, together with a computer and Skype! Fortunately I have some great colleagues at UKCP (and elsewhere) and they both encouraged and kept me on the straight and narrow. Before I knew it I was giving talks, helping to run a UKCP special interest group, and writing the book, and all without so much as an hour’s training. So I’m now doing OLT’s general certificate and have felt the bump of various banana skins during the course and realise just how important the training is.

The strength of the book is both the wonderful advisory group and the richness of the chapter authors, including OLT’s Anne Stokes, – all keen to help and advise. It is this team work and diversity that is the strength of the book. I wrote three chapters, including a mighty long one about setting up an online practice – how I wish I had done the course first. But never mind I’m sure you’ll forgive any howlers. I hope there’s not too many.

The book is not just for those wanting to set up an online practice, it’s for everyone, the Luddites and doubters included. The book is all the stronger for all the contributors, and every time I think I have a favourite chapter because that chapter is so illuminating, I immediately think of another one and think that’s as good. It is not a book that you need to start at the beginning, I advise dipping in to the bits that interest you first.

There is something for everyone in the book, from child protection, through to avatars, the online relationship, setting up an online practice, examples of practice as thought-provoking as they are entertaining. No book on the subject would be complete without at least some inclusion of social media, though it is not the central part of the book – I recommend Aaron Balick’s “The Psychodynamics of Social Media” if you really want a full frontal on that. Pippa Weitz

So please buy the book as a download or paperback. :  http://www.karnacbooks.com/Product.asp?PID=34505&MATCH=1

UKCP Members receive a 10% discount on all titles in the series when ordering through Karnac’s website (enter the code ‘UKCP33401’ at the checkout page).

And finally just proving I’m completely crazy, the ink’s not yet dry and I’m already thinking about the next volumes. I am hoping initially for a volume on children and young people, but maybe we’ll follow that with one for the older generation, and there’s so many other subjects. So if you have an idea (not just on those two themes) please contact me at:

Philippa.weitz@ukcp.org.uk

 

 

Leave a comment